Top Menu

Super Bowl and World Series at Shared Stadiums: A History

Los Angeles Coliseum

One of the more notable shifts across the facility landscapes of the NFL and Major League Baseball is the move away from shared stadiums. In a trend that has unfolded for decades, teams have left multipurpose stadiums and domes behind in favor of new venues that are tailored to their sport.

Once the Oakland Raiders leave the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in the coming years, it could mark the end of shared MLB/NFL facilities. While the end of multipurpose stadiums has not been an unforeseeable circumstance, the history of these stadiums in both sports is notable—especially among those that have hosted both World Series and Super Bowls.

Plenty of multisport venues had their memorable moments in NFL and MLB, but only a handful have hosted championships in both sports. The tradition also spans several decades, though with the continuing emphasis of MLB and NFL-specific facilities, it could be one that has come to an end. Should that prove to be the case, it will be these four venues that hold the distinction of being sites for both the World Series and Super Bowl.

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum

Super Bowls Hosted: I (1967), VII (1973)                  World Series Hosted: 1959

Among many of the memorable moments in the history of the storied Coliseum is Super Bowl I, or the first AFL-NFL World Championship Game, which saw the NFL’s Green Bay Packers defeat the AFL’s Kansas City Chiefs by a final of 35-10. The game would return six years later, when the Miami Dolphins prevailed 14-7 over the Washington Redskins in the Coliseum’s second and thus far last Super Bowl.

Prior to the establishment of the Super Bowl, the Coliseum was also used for baseball, hosting the Los Angeles Dodgers from 1958-1961 while Dodger Stadium was being built. The Dodgers beat the Chicago White Sox during their only trip to the World Series over that period.

Qualcomm Stadium

Super Bowls: XXII (1988), XXXII (1998), XXXVII (2003)   World Series: 1984, 1998

The stadium has undergone a few name changes over the years—it was Jack Murphy Stadium for its first Super Bowl and World Series, and is now known as SDCCU Stadium. It was known by its Qualcomm-sponsored identity during its most recent championship turns in both sports. Washington routed the Denver Broncos 42-10 in Super Bowl XXII, only for John Elway and the Broncos to return 10 years later and defeat the Green Bay Packers. Qualcomm Stadium’s final Super Bowl saw the Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeat the Oakland Raiders 48-21.

Accounting for the stadium’s World Series history is the San Diego Padres, whose only trips to the Fall Classic came during their time at Qualcomm. They lost the ’84 Series to the Detroit Tigers, and were defeated by the New York Yankees in ’98.

Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome

Super Bowls: XXVI (1992)                                                       World Series: 1987, 1991

The first Super Bowl to be played in Minneapolis featured the Redskins and Buffalo Bills, with Washington winning 37-24. That was the only Super Bowl to be played at the Metrodome, but Minneapolis is in line to host Super Bowl LII at U.S. Bank Stadium in February 2018.

The Metrodome’s World Series history is far more extensive. The Minnesota Twins won each of their World Series appearances when playing there, and clinched at the Metrodome in game seven of both Fall Classics.

Hard Rock Stadium

Super Bowls: XXIII (1989), XXIX (1995), XXXIII (1999), XLI (2007), XLIV (2010)

World Series: 1997, 2003

This is another stadium with multiple names, as it hosted two Super Bowls as Joe Robbie Stadium, before staging games as Pro Player Stadium, Dolphin Stadium, and Sun Life Stadium. It has undergone significant renovations since its most recent Super Bowl, and became Hard Rock Stadium prior to the 2016 season. It is no longer shared by MLB and NFL teams, but it does have another Super Bowl in its future, as it will host Super Bowl LIV in 2020.

While it was never known as a good baseball venue, it did host two World Series as Pro Player Stadium, with then-Florida Marlins winning both. The Marlins played there from 1993-2011 before becoming the Miami Marlins upon their move to Marlins Park in 2012.

This article first appeared in the weekly Football Stadium Digest newsletter. Are you a subscriber? It’s free, and you’ll see features like this before they appear on the Web. Go here to subscribe to the Football Stadium Digest newsletter.

, , , , , ,

August Publications